AFC Liverpool

Oldham Boro 0-0 AFC Liverpool

Maybe it was a case of after the lord mayor’s show as AFC Liverpool played out a 0-0 draw against Oldham Boro. In a game of limited chances, neither keeper was really tested, and it was Karl Gornell who had the best chances for AFC Liverpool.

The Reds started busily enough but all they had to show for their endeavour was an Andy McCoy shot that was dragged wide.

Then McCoy was fouled twenty five yards out and Gornell’s direct free kick had Daniel Pearson at full stretch to turn it behind for a corner.

In the best move of the match, John Kennedy, McCoy and Phil Stafford combined to set up Gornell but under pressure from Lee Scanlon he couldn’t find the target from six yards out.

At the other end, Oldham Boro failed to register a shot on target leaving Paul Willis virtually a spectator.

The second half continued in much the same vein as the first, with the majority of the play contained to the middle third. For the Reds, McCoy blasted over from twenty yards and Stafford couldn’t capitalise after the Oldham defence struggled to deal with a corner.

With crosses passing by Ayodeji Ogunlade and Shaun Roscoe, the home side never looked like finding the back of the net. Willis was only called into action in the final five minutes when he raced of his line to deny Matthew Hampson.

Andy Olsen replaced McCoy and showed early promise, blasting wide after running onto Dean Thurston’s through ball. That promise failed to materialise though and the day was summed up when, with Pearson stranded off his line, Olsen’s touch left him and he lost the opportunity to snatch all three points.

Oldham Boro 0-0 AFC Liverpool

Attendance: 140

AFC Liverpool: 1.Paul Willis 2.Luke Davies 3.Conor Murphy 4.Darren Torpey 5.Paddy O’Driscoll 6.Phil Stafford (C) 7.Karl Gornell (14.Dean Thurston 67’) 8.River Humphryes (12.Tod Bamber 81’) 9.Andy McCoy (16.Andy Olsen 74’) 10.Steve Corris 11.John Kennedy
Unused Sub: 15.David Ojapah

Oldham Boro: 1.Daniel Pearson 2.Lee Scanlon 3.Alex Dibley 4.Andrew Smith 5.Damien Schofield 6.Duncan Philbin 7.Shaun Roscoe 8.Matthew Hampson 9.Arnold Nsimbe 10.Ayodeji Ogunlade 11.Nicholas Alexander (15.Darren Scanlon 67’)
Unused Subs: 12.William Buckley 16.Aristote Kazza

Posted by:  afclpapakuz         Date:  April 17, 2010         Popularity:  189 views

Related Items

  • No Related Post