AFC Liverpool

Reds Come From Behind To Win

Goals either side of the break from James Buckley and Adam Waterhouse ensured the Reds took all three points against Runcorn Linnets after falling behind to an early Rob Whyte strike.

Manager Paul Moore was full of praise for his side’s application and determination to come from a goal down especially as he was without nine first team players forcing him into last minute changes.

It wasn’t the start he would have wanted, seeing his side go one behind after only two minutes when Denis Barlow’s clearance went straight to Whyte, who after composing himself, struck from twenty yards with the keeper struggling to get back into position.

The visitors almost doubled their lead three minutes later as Barlow’s goal kick got held up in the wind and dropped straight to Daniel Smith, who struck first time from twenty five yards but his effort didn’t quite have the height to beat Barlow, who managed to claim the ball at full stretch. The Linnets were edging the opening exchanges and a long range effort from Kevin Towey forced Barlow into tipping the ball over the bar while the Reds struggled to create in the final third and their luck seemed to be in short supply as they lost Jack Sinnott to injury, replaced by debutant Waterhouse.

However, as the half wore on, the Reds found more confidence in themselves and slowly they began to assert their presence on the match. A neat passing move ended with Muktar Mahama snatching at a shot which was quickly followed by Buckley firing into Peter Collinge’s near post, bringing the Linnets’ keeper into action for the first time.

As things were evening out though, the visitors came close to a second once again as a cross in from the right found Smith at the back post and his shot was headed off the line by Chris Williams.

It was Buckley who was instrumental in bringing about the equaliser as he won a free kick down by the corner flag and it was he who met Waterhouse’s delivery to head home his fourth goal for AFC Liverpool on the stroke of half time.

Keyed up by going in level at the break, AFC Liverpool came out in a more determined mood and this soon paid dividends for them. A quick break out saw Mahama lay the ball off to Joe Bennett, whose first time ball was latched onto by Waterhouse with his first time shot going under Collinge to give the Reds the lead on forty eight minutes.

The home side now looked to extend their lead with Mahama firing in a couple of shots, the first of which was tame and straight at Collinge and the second which had more power but again was too close to the keeper.

Runcorn Linnets pressed to level the scores but though they had increasing amounts of possession, AFC Liverpool’s goal was rarely threatened. Smith shot wildly wide from the edge of the area and Towey looked to curl one inside the post but ended up shooting too straight. There was a little heart in the mouth moment with a minor goalmouth scramble following a Whyte corner but Barlow soon smothered the ball to snuff out the danger and the only time the Linnets got in behind the Reds back four, Barlow came quickly off his line to do enough to prevent Matthew Atherton from giving his side a share of the spoils.

By the time Towey turned and tamely shot from the edge of the area, AFC Liverpool had comfortably ridden out the Linnets’ pressure and were fully deserved in claiming their third league win of the season.

AFC Liverpool 2-1 Runcorn Linnets
Buckley 45′                             Whyte 2′
Waterhouse 48′

Attendance: 186

AFC Liverpool: 1.Denis Barlow 2.Aaron Carey 3.Darren Torpey 4.Chris Williams 5.Adam Farley 6.Nevil Picton 7.James Buckley 8. Joseph Bennett 9.Muktar Mahama 10.Jack Sinnott (12.Adam Waterhouse 26′ (14.Craig Williams 71′)) 11.Steve Corris (C)
Unused Subs: 15.Callum Tai-Hogan GK.Paul Moore
Runcorn Linnets: 1.Peter Collinge 2.Lewis Savva 3.Chris Fitzsimmons 4.Robert Bodie 5.Chris Lawton 6.Michael Ellison (12.Phillip Mooney 45′) 7.Kevin Towey 8.Matthew Atherton 9.Daniel Smith (17.Chris Dykes 74′) 10.Robert Whyte (C) 11.Sean Pearson
Unused Subs: Jonah O’Reilly 15.Paul Bowes 16.David Hill
Photo courtesy of Dave Williams.

Posted by:  afclpapakuz         Date:  December 1, 2011         Popularity:  463 views

Related Items

  • No Related Post